Adding Kitties to the Scrappy Bargello

I had fun last weekend with a visit from my sister. She came in town and did a sleepover. We went to a flea market and then to a few antique shops and then came home and she made homemade pizza. I wanted to go see her this week. She just purchased a home and is going to have 3 residents living there that she will provide care for. I wanted to be a part of her setting up the house but… it didn’t happen. I am on a countdown for may last 6 radiation treatments for breast cancer. It is a journey that began the end of March. I am too tired to drive. She sent text with some pictures of the kitchen wallpaper yesterday. I enjoyed being a part of her adventure even if from afar.

My niece offered to come and get me and bring me to visit mom but it would be a 3 hour drive for her and I did not want to inconvenience her.  So I did a little cutting and planning and just a little stitching and mostly  pinning fabrics to the bottom of the Scrappy Bargello. This is me after a 2 hour much needed nap!

img_0224I am sitting on a stool in the hallway deciding what color needs to be added next.

img_0140

I worked on fussy cutting cat fabrics to put into the quilt.

img_0141-001Before I knew it I had 10 more kitty sets to add to the quilt top.

and some nice sets of squares ready to be added to the project. img_0142

In an attempt to stay organized if I find a fabric that is already in the quilt I pin it to this hanger to use on other projects. img_0146-001

yes every once in a while I find a duplicate. No duplicates allowed in this quilt! img_0151

Having fun.

img_0150

Yesterday I found a spot for each of the kitties.

Once I get a spurt of energy I will sit at the machine and start sewing some of these together. There are nine blocks going up and nine blocks going down. I iron one strip upward and the next strip down so they line up nicely when sewing the strips together. I have the top set up in panels right now. The first 3 sets of nine are sewn together and then the next two and the remaining are just sections of nine. It is easier to work with the strips under the machine.

img_0205

My 10th panel is still in the infancy stage. I just added the 11 rows ending with the leaf fabric which is from Grandma Susan’s skirt and shirt outfit.In her memory. Love you Susan.

img_0202When I look up from my stool I see a curtain of color.

2 Responses to “Adding Kitties to the Scrappy Bargello”

  1. Deb Says:

    Have you been counting your blocks?! The kitty fabric is cute. Glad you took that so needed nap.👍

  2. quiltedthrifted Says:

    I have decided on 95 blocks going down the quilt and 90 blocks wide. I now have the first 3 panels designed and pinned all the way to the 95th block. I have worked in another row of kitties toward the top on those 3 panels. I have a lot of strips to sew together now! I feel a little melancholy about the beginning of the finishing of this quilt.

Leave a Reply

