Lots of Love – Pink Heart Quilt

Here is a reverse chronological log of photos of my Cancer quilt. I have the horizontal sashing pieces cut and now need to do the cornerstones.

I think I will add some music fabric

September 7th 2016 I decided to add some music fabric.

August 27th in search of more word fabric! I would like to find a few more word fabrics. I have looked on EBay and Etsy. I said something at my Tuesday quilt group gathering and the next time we met Barb H. had an entire Jelly Roll of word fabrics for me. My quilting friends are amazing! The size of a Jelly Roll is perfect since the sashing strips I need are 2 1/2 ” x 6 1/2 “. Prior to the Jelly Roll the main fabric has the word LOVE the other two are written letters with postal stamps the 4 th has musical instruments and terms. I saw one fabric that had German script at a quilt shop and I just needed to go back and see how rich the background tone was and it turns out it was in the Jelly Roll.

I would like to find a few more word fabrics. I have looked on EBay and Etsy. If you know of any that would go with these let me know.

Seriously I am so impressed by the graciousness of quilters.

I am thinking of this small heart for the cornerstones. This is where I stalled on the making of this quilt. I have 3 blocks to make to get it to the size I want and then all of the cornerstones to do.

Still working on this. What do you think about the heart as a cornerstone?

On July 12th I received this block from a Flickr friend.

Girlfriends * Sisters How wonderfully appropriate. I just love it. A third Flickr friend, mimi’sdarlins, joined in with my Quiltin’ Babes to make blocks for my “Lots of Love” quilt.

Thank you mimi’sdarlins for this wonderful block.

At the time I received this block I had 7 chemotherapy treatments completed  and 9 left to go. That next Tuesday was my halfway mark for chemo.

Girlfriends * Sisters How wonderfully appropriate. I just love it. A third Flickr friend, mimi'sdarlins, joined in with my Quiltin' Babes to make blocks for my Lots of Love" quilt.

July 11th word fabric shopping! I found this wonderful LOVE fabric and then 3 whites for the backgrounds to the cornerstones and the blocks I will be making myself.

Word fabric for my "Lots Of Love" quilt. The pink hearts.

Block 26 came in the mail today. I think 30 blocks will be it. I have not made my blocks yet. I was thinking of word fabric between the blocks. Maybe pink buttons for the corners. I want soft to the touch fabric on the back.

Block 26 came in the mail on July 9th . I think 30 blocks will be it. I have not made my blocks yet. I was thinking of word fabric between the blocks. Maybe pink buttons for the corners. I want soft to the touch fabric on the back. I found some minky fabric out in Rogers that is so lovely. It is 19.99 per yard so we will see once I get the top completed!

Take a closer look at block 26 which came all the way from Angelika in Germany.

All the way from Germany. Thank you.

The block below came from Joyce in the CactusPatch

Happy mail. Thanks Joyce!

Here are the blocks from the Babes.Do you see the one reverse?

See the one reverse?

May 8th 2016

It's grown even more.

April 20th below

The beginnings of my own personal journey. Friendship blocks from some of the Quiltin' Babes. More to come and I think I will make a few myself.

I noticed my lump in January but thought it was a pulled muscle after doing chin up exercises at the health club. It wasn’t until Friday March 25th while doing a personal breast exam before going to bed I noticed the lump was still there and discussed it with Scott and decided I needed to go in and have it checked. On Monday I called my boss at work and she said to get in as quickly as possible. I called the clinic and they got me in that day. The journey began. It has been quite a year. I never thought this would happen to me. It has and I am living it. That is the key word. I am living and I am grateful. Happy New Year everyone. “Lots of Love” to you all.

2 Responses to “Lots of Love – Pink Heart Quilt”

  1. Deb Says:

    I like the reversed block in with all the rest. It is going to be a lovely quilt when finished! Happy New Year to you,Theresa! Praying that your cancer journey is coming to an end.

  2. quiltedthrifted Says:

    Thank you Deb. I may just feel “normal” some day soon! The nurses say I need to get used to a “new normal”. I think they are right.

Leave a Reply

