Mom’s Garden

I was so happy to see tomatoes and peppers when we returned from vacation.
IMG_0028

My first mission once we returned was to go check on mom. She has a stye by her eye that had to be removed surgically. She now has a black eye. Mommy!
I am so amazed by Mom and Kay’s garden.
IMG_6237

Mom doesn’t get out to the garden much but on her good days she does like to walk out and take a look.

Kay says every year she is not going to have a garden and look! Look what she has grown this year!!!!!

IMG_6238The cabbage is bigger than ever before. I think those onions look more like leeks! I love cabbage and can not wait to bring one home with me! If anyone has a favorite cabbage recipe please link to it in the comment section!!!!!

IMG_6239  IMG_6240

The cucumber are slowly coming along. This is the first year they have had to put a fence around the garden to keep the deer and the rabbits away. It is a mesh fence that my sister put up.

IMG_6241IMG_6242

I took photos from the East side of the garden to the West.

IMG_6243  IMG_6244In these photos you can see the hose from the irrigation system and the mesh netting.

IMG_6247  IMG_6248

The water is pumped up an embankment from the Mississippi river.

IMG_6245  IMG_6246

The last little area at the end is where my big brother dumps the grass clippings. He owns apartment complexes and does all the mowing himself. They used to take the kitchen scraps out to this area but do not do it anymore. It is too hard for Kay to do and I would imagine it would just encourage more critters.

IMG_6249  IMG_6235

As I walk along the path out to the garden I always see pieces of ceramic tile embedded in the ground. My dad loved to use tile on the floors in the house. When he reworked the breezeway 45 plus years ago he dumped the scraps along this path. Now many years later the tile pieces are slowly making their way to the surface.

If you know me at all I can not leave them laying there. I collect a large handful and they came home with me. Maybe a mosaic some day!

IMG_6250

In memory of my daddy. In memory of the years my parents were together. In memory of gardens passed and my childhood growing up in the country along the Mississippi river. I think these tile would be great in a stepping stone out in my garden.

One Response to “Mom’s Garden”

  1. Deb Says:

    I, too ,love cabbage! And Wow what a garden!! I didn’t do a garden this year for I can’t get out like I would like too. So your pictures were get to see!!

Leave a Reply

