July 4th, 2013

July 4th

Originally uploaded by Q_uilted T_hrifted

Hi everyone! I was so tired on the 4th but I just had to show you my progress. I am missing two little squares that I have to find the fabric in my stash ( or something similar). All the diamond blocks are sewn in now. I just have a good 50 horizontal seams I will sew by machine. I was thinking of adding a good 6 to 8 inch border. I was thinking of doing ties in the center and hand or machine quilting the wider border. I wanted to put a brushed flannel on the back and I’ve traced all the children, grandchildren and great grandchildren’s hands and I am going to machine embroider them around the perimeter of the backing fabric. This then goes to my mom, Grandma Mary Lou who just celebrated her 85th birthday two weeks ago.

Leave a Reply

