Basket Weave

Basket Weave

Originally uploaded by Q_uilted T_hrifted

I am in an Add A Border group. This is a block I made and submitted to the group.

I had never worked a basket weave before. I didn’t want it to be exact because a lot of the AAB blocks are wonky or hand pieced or just simply creative in nature not with rulers and rules.

Carol did the second round. She kept with the relaxed methodology that I began with.

Basketweave

She didn’t feel a need to match up the corners. She allowed the patches to run right off the ends. I love this. It has that Gees Bend feel.

The third round by Ed brought back the basket weave. I like that both Carol and Ed added patriotic fabric.

Basket Weave by theresa@quilted thrifted, ladybug and cattails (Ed Hart)

I had one red fabric with stars but otherwise there was no true patriotic direction in the first block I did.

There is one more round to go unless Ed decided to keep the block and continue with it himself.

One of the rules of the AAB group is that if you are working on a block and absolutely fall in love with it you can keep it.

When any of us make a block we need to go into it realizing most likely the block will not come back to us….maybe…but….

I had every intention of making many blocks but have only submitted 4 and received 4 back to work on. I have 3 I have here to mail back in and one more I have the direction I want to go on paper but got side tracked with taxes and other projects and set it aside.

Here is the blog link to Rosie The Robot block I worked on. It finished the fourth round and if I ever get to a fourth round and she is still available I could get her back!

The second block I worked on is Leftovers Again blogged here.

Leave a Reply

