Spring is here and it is starting to feel like it!

Spring is here and it is starting to feel like it!

Originally uploaded by Q_uilted T_hrifted

I have joined another online Flickr group called Scrap Attack Quilt-Along and I am excited to say that yesterday I started and completed my first block. I have bins of scraps in yellow, red, blue, green, purple, orange and then a larger bin with white/creams. The green is so full I can not get the cover on it. These are smaller shoe box size bins.

IMG_1064This brown block I am trying very hard to have it be a double nine patch made of 4 patches that is.  I have had to adjust the lights to a medium tan so I get the contrast I will need for the light/dark values.

IMG_1065   I was able to fussy cut the man from the strange clown fabric I have.

I also fussy cut some kittens. IMG_1068

I like all the quilts I see that have word fabric in them. I have this strange piece of fabric with advertisements and clowns.

IMG_1063

I am working on 4 patches going across this entire block. This block will also have a large nine   patch you will be able to see from a distance.

IMG_1067

IMG_1061

IMG_1056

IMG_1038 - Copy          IMG_1039 - Copy

The fabric has a bit of a stretch to it so I backed it with a cloth foundation and stitched around it to stabilize. it.

IMG_1057

I did this to these yellow floral fabric as well. I got this from Kathy in Australia. She sent me fabric a few years ago to add blocks to my Sunflower quilt.

IMG_1041I put a shout out to the Babes in my Tuesday quilt group for yellows and white/cream fabrics so I can continue with my Sunflower quilt – which is a study in Sunflower golden yellows!  I feel like I won the lottery!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

