The back of Leah’s Musical Quilt

The back of Leah’s Musical Quilt

Originally uploaded by Q_uilted T_hrifted

OK. This is how is looks right now. I have wanted to do something to personalize this for a couple years. Three weeks ago I needed something to occupy my mind and to cheer me up.

The nine-patches are the same size on the back as they are on the front. See blog post from yesterday to see the front of the quilt.  The strips are 6 1/2 unfinished. I started there.  I have 30+ ninepatches finished to go on the sides on the quilt and to finish the rows on the back.

I am not going to trim the sides until I have the entire back done and lay top and bottom together to see how they fit. This quilt is on a queen size bed in this picture. It will fit on a king as well by the time I am finished with it.

I have been wanting to try making free style letters for a long time. The first one I made is L and it is certainly the easiest.

The second letter wasn’t too bad. I just set the pieces alongside the L so they were about the same size.

This one was tougher and took more time. I told myself I was not going to redo any of the letters so I am going with this A.

Not difficult at all.

And then I sewed them together.

3 Responses to “The back of Leah’s Musical Quilt”

  1. Ann Champion Says:

    I love the way you personalized this quilt. It has to feel pretty special to have a quilt made with your name on it? Leah is a lucky girl. 🙂

  2. Tonya Ricucci Says:

    yay, really fun!

  3. quiltedthrifted Says:

    Tonya, thanks so much for leaving a comment. I stepped over to your blog and can’t wait to see the new book and will look for your star quilt. I have two names to add in rows for this quilt back. My two great nieces, Autumn and Anna. I will get a lot of practice with those A’s. I am so excited that there are more books coming out on free piecing! I LOVE using up every possible scrap and working freely without a pattern allowing the fabric and my creativity to speak to me. I sometimes will draft a slight concept of what I would like the letter (in this case) to look like but I rarely will do a foundation piece. I can get turned around with the paper. I will lay them side by side though to test the size needed. Thanks again for stopping by. I have set this project aside for a while and will get back to it soon. (smile)

Leave a Reply

