Another block for the sunflower quilt completed!

with my daddy’s wooden mushrooms

Originally uploaded by Q_uilted T_hrifted


It’s been a two week process of drawing the sunflower, reducing it because it was 8 1/2 inches and I needed it between 6 1/2 an d7 inches.

The reversing it so I could draw it on the back of the crazy patchwork.

I have been carrying it around with me to get a few stitches in here and there. I just need to cut it down now to the 7 1/2 inch size and add it to a row on the quilt.

I did some rows of small segments of fabric and then added them to the 4 corners. I like the look and it allows me to use up some pretty small pieces.

I still have to draw the lines on each petal and get them sewn. I guess I am not finished after looking at this photo. hah!

The back side prior to starting the embroidery

front side prior to the embroidery stitching




2 Responses to “Another block for the sunflower quilt completed!”

  1. isathreadsoflife Says:

    I love this block ! What a lovely idea to embroider the sunflower on the crazy patch. It is wonderful !

    • quiltedthrifted Says:

      Thank you so much. It will look a bit like folk art because I am not the best at embroidery and I don’t require perfection….at least not all the time! Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

