“I’ll know I ain’t forgotten.”



"I’ll know I ain’t forgotten."

Originally uploaded by blamstur

“I’ll know I ain’t forgotten.”

“I’ve been a hard worker all my life, but ‘most all my work has been the kind that ‘perishes with the usin’, as the Bible says. That’s the discouragin’ thinkg about a woman’s work…if a woman was to see all the dishes that she had to wash before she died, piled up before her in one pile, she’d lie down and die right then and there. I’ve always had the name o’ bein’ a good housekeeper, but when I’m dead and gone there ain’t anybody goin’ to think o’ the floors I’ve swept, and the tables I’ve scrubbed, and the old clothes I’ve patched, and the stockin’s I’ve darned….But when one of my grandchildren or great-grandchildren sees one o’ these quilts, they’ll think about Aunt Jane, and, wherever I am then, I’ll know I ain’t forgotten.”
~Aunt Jane of Kentucky, ca. 1900

Antique quilts from central Massachusetts. Swift River Quilt Show, New Salem, Massachusetts.

This quilt is such a wonderful ray of sunshine.

Eleven months ago I started a group called “Tied Quilts”. Every so often I do a search for Tied Quilts and invite more photos into the pool. We currently have 64 members and over 300 quilt photos. All of the quilts are uniquely beautiful and no two are alike.

I have to say these are my favorite colors in the world. Looking at this quilt I can see why.

Leave a Reply

