The softest ties ever

The softest ties ever

Originally uploaded by Q_uilted T_hrifted

“On both of these squares Grandma pieced the fabric together in order for the block to be the right size. Not uncommon in the 60s.”

As I sit and type this I am listening to Christmas music from this site and wrapped in Grandma’s quilt.

http://music.aol.com/radioguide/christmas-music

It is very nice to have soft music to listen to while typing and reading. The rest of the household is still sleeping. I am finally feeling better. It’s been 8 days since this flu began. I was able to eat yesterday and I feel my strength returning.  We wrapped presents last night. Pajamas….for everyone. It’s a funny thought because I just finished typing on the group I started this year Tied Quilts about this quilt above and was saying many of these fabrics were worn pajamas.

Please take  a moment to look at the quilts in the Tied Quilt pool if you haven’t been there before.

We have been using my Grandmother’s tied quilt this winter season over our beds, cuddling on the couch, and wrapped around us while sitting on the computer reading our favorite blogs, football stats and playing Star Wars and various online games. The quilt has a flannel back and such soft yarn ties and many of the fabrics are worn flannel pajamas. Perfect in every way.
50 members and 286 beautiful Tied Quilts. Every few days I search for more tied quilts to add to this group. I love looking at quilts on Flickr and am very excited when I come across a new quilt using ties made from yarn and embroidery floss.

I was born in 1960. This coming year I turn 50 years old. That is most likely the age of the quilt I am wrapped up in. 50 years. My goodness. I notice the quilt has this softness and warmth to it that many of my other newer quilts do not have. I am hoping that is a description of me too. I know my body is softer. When I think of it I wonder if the Dear Lord made bodies softer when we get older to cuddle with children. I see my 7 nieces and nephews and my two children and my Greatniece and nephew cuddling with Mom and it looks so perfect to me. She adores holding them and rocking the little ones and each of the children give her the biggest and warmest hug ever each time they see her. It’s the long, warm, “I love you Grandma” embracing, back rubbing kind of hugs. The kind I wish for each of you this holiday season and throughout the new year.

My Grandmother Lena was a church quilter. She had a big walk out basement and that’s where the quilt frame would be set up. The ladies would sit around the frame and stitch on the quilts. Grandma had boxes and boxes of 4 1/2 in squares in her guestbedroom closet. I used to sneak into that room to see what was stacked up overflowing from these boxes when I was young. We lived across the road from each other. Our road was 1/4 of a mile long and Grandma Magdalena and Grandpa Joseph lived just across the street. My Dad’s Brother lived in the house next to them. Next to our house was my Mom’s Mom, Grandma Lulu (I’m crying right now quiet tears are falling.  I don’t really know why. Emotional due to the season, having been sick, the holidays, the two emotional movies I watched on the Hallmark channel last night! or the song I am hearing “…a new King born today and man will live forever more because of Christmas day”).

I think we were lucky to be so close to family. If we needed an egg for cooking or a teaspoon of vanilla we just ran over to one of the Grandma’s.  They both would have their aprons on and their hands into the preparation of some meal just about every time I saw them.  I wish for you a relative or friendly neighbor that you can run over to for that egg or ingredient. Today we will celebrate Christmas with my Mr’s  sister-in-law and her two daughters. The girl’s are in their teens now and they will all be traveling to Colorado for a week 21-28th so we will celebrate with them now. I hear the Tv coming on and cartoons. Time to be Mom!

Have a wonderful 4th Sunday of Advent everyone.  Here is a wonderful Gallery I put together on the 1st Sunday of Advent.

One Response to “The softest ties ever”

  1. isathreadsoflife Says:

    What a lovely, touching letter, just the kind one enjoys reading at Christmas 🙂 I imagine this street you were living in, members of your family very close to you and all you shared over the years. Memories for a happy life. I do have one or two friendly neighbours I can run over to and ask for an egg, some flour or whatever. That’s a good feeling.
    I went to flickr and looked at your Tied Quilt Pool, some wonderful artwork there ! I have never made such ties. I would love to know how to do this. Do you have a post on this, please ?

Leave a Reply

