Coin Quilt

Coin Quilt

Originally uploaded by Q_uilted T_hrifted

This is my current project. I have been working on it off and on for a couple months now. I am fascinated by the coin quilts I see on Flickr. This one is all itsy bitsy scraps left over from cutting the 1 1/2 inch squares for my Triple Irish Chain.

Instead of listing when I finish quilts I should just list when I start them! It seems I start a new one every month.  We have been horribly sick with the H1N1 virus. This is our second time around. The first time it was only our son. This time it his all 3 of us at home. Our older son did come home on Saturday for 20 minutes to pick up one of the cars and I am hoping that wasn’t long enough to pick up the virus. At that time only our younger son had it. By Monday morning my Mr and by Monday evening I was violently ill. Ill like I have never been in my entire life. The only things worse are childbirth and I have to say streph is more painful. This one is just embarrassingly grotesquely sickeningly horrible! I am drained of energy. I had to go to work today to keep my job. They don’t allow you out sick 3 days without hospitalization or filing for FMLA. I ate an apple at 11a  and thought the pains going through my stomach were going to do me in.  At 2p I tried to drink half a glass of water only to get bubbles running all over my stomach. Tonight I was able to eat a pancake.  I’m going to bed. Exhausted. Nice reading ….. maybe at least I can read this a year from now and be healthy and grateful. I am grateful it isn’t Christmas eve or morning. That would be worse!

My son and I did get a project done for school tonight while cooking dinner. It is a snowman that we decorated with even itsier bitsier bits of fabric….smaller than the ones used in the quilt above. I’ll photo it and add when I feel a bit better. It has button eyes too and 3 red buttons on the front. It turned out really cute and will go on the wall at school.

P.S. I spoke to the Assist Principal today at school and the Principal is out with H1N1 today……. it sounds like the exact same symptoms as ours. GROSS!

3 Responses to “Coin Quilt”

  1. Angelika Says:

    I hope you are feeling better now ! Get well soon !
    I wish you and your familiy a very happy christmas time !
    Greetings from Germany, Angelika

  2. quiltedthrifted Says:

    Thanks, Angelika. I am finally better. Each day brings more strength. I am so glad if it was to happen in was the week before Christmas and not the week of! Vielen Dank. Best wishes to you and your family.

  3. isathreadsoflife Says:

    How terrible ! I am glad to read in your comment that you feel better. Your coin quilt is amazing and beautiful ! I wonder are the scraps borders “rough” or are they all pieced together ? You always give me so much inspiration for my quilting, thank you also for your lovely comment on my blog. Merry Christmas, Joyeux Noël et Bonne Année 🙂 Bonne santé, wishing you a good health too !

Leave a Reply

