Vintage Spider Web Quilt rocking chair cushion

Vintage Spider Web Quilt rocking chair cushion

Originally uploaded by Q_uilted T_hrifted

I joined my first block exchange on Flickr and I am so excited! This is a very old spiderweb quilt remnant of my Aunt Kay’s. It is on the rocking chair that is in her bedroom. The chair and this chair back cushion belonged to her Mother, Grandma Martha.  Kay is not an Aunt by blood. She is an Aunt by devotion. She has lived with my family since I was about 10 years old. She helped with everything….the meals,  bills,  gardening, updates to the house! Everything and anything that has to do with life.  I am convinced without her my Mommy would not be with us today. She makes certain my Mom gets the rest she needs, makes certain she takes her medication on time, does all the driving…..need I say more!

TS Sept 2009 032 This picture is a bit blurry but it shows what the stitching looks like on the back side of the quilt. They are in black thread and it gives a great affect to the quilt!

One Response to “Vintage Spider Web Quilt rocking chair cushion”

  1. isathreadsoflife Says:

    Superb quilt and touching story.

Leave a Reply

