Taken Monday June 1st after 1st Grade Field Trip

Taken Monday June 1st after 1st Grade Field Trip

Now that I think about it more…this was taken last week! Different shirt! It’s a great painting though and a good representation of the diversity in my son’s school. I think it is a great environment to go to school in.

Originally uploaded by Q_uilted T_hrifted

We went to French Park and played at the outdoor jungle gym and then played frizbee and catch with some tennis balls for hours! I was so exhausted Monday night I was asleep before my head even hit the pillow. Wednesday is the last day of 1st grade. Oh my goodness!!! It’s been a good year. Thank you Mrs Chan.

Mrs Chan at the overhead This is after we returned from the field trip. The children still had two hours before the end of the day and I didn’t know how they could physically make it to the end. Luckily the last hour was a music concert in the gym by the Kindergarden. My son then wanted to go to Adventure club afterwards! So of course I said sure ….. and headed to the thrift store for a couple hours. Found some treasures and will share in the next post.

PICT0043

I do remember having to raise my hand in school to answer a question? It was so nostalgic to sit in the room.

PICT0037

You have to understand that I have one child in college and this young man in 1st grade. When I found out we were having our 2nd child 12 years later it was quite a realization that I would be going through the entire school system K-12 one more time. Incredible! Our nieces were in elementary at the time and I remember being in the early months of pregnancy and so in shock we were pregnant again. I was walking through the girl’s school and passed Kindergarden and heard the kids singing and I had a smile on my face, I passed 1st grade and saw the children with there hands up in the air waving so they would be chosen to answer the question and I walked by in wonderment, then 3rd grade I heard the teacher ask the child to sit still and I got a tear in my eye, then into the 4th grade classroom of my niece and by that time….totally in tears. How do you explain that to a classroom of 4th graders!

I treasure early photos of my older son in school. There aren’t too many so I did take a number of shots Monday in the classroom.

PICT0038 PICT0041

There are 24 students that went on the field trip today. They started the year with 28 1st graders in one classroom. I personally think that is crazy.

I don’t know how Mrs. Chan did it but she did. I give her a lot of credit.

1st Grade Friends

He’s doing the peace sign behind his head! Of course.

I like this shirt with the 7 on it. If you ask him he will tell you he is 7 and a half! I thought it was cool when I found it!

I will remember this day for a long time. The young man on the left hung out with me the entire day. I don’t know if you have ever been around a group of younger children but there always seems to be one or two that are fascinated by you or just feel connected. This young man was my buddy today. My little guy had a great day too and was very happy to have mom around to hang out with his classmates. The older one doesn’t feel that way anymore! (chuckle).

Leave a Reply

