Batik Fish Quilt Top

IMGA0224-1

Batik Fish Quilt Top

Originally uploaded by Q_uilted T_hrifted

I won these blocks probably 5 years ago at a quilt guild meeting.I purchased the batik fish to go with the quilt squares I won. This is the completed top. I finished sewing the top together last summer. Now I need to find fabric I like for the back.

IMGA0225-1

IMGA0226-1

There are 9 different fish blocks in this quilt.

IMGA0227-1 IMGA0229-1

I worked really hard at staggering the blocks through the quilt top.

IMGA0230-1 IMGA0231-1I do like this pink block quite a bit!

IMGA0234-1

IMGA0235-1

IMGA0285-1

This is block #9 which is really block #1 because it is located in the upper left corner of the quilt.

*** Oh I really need to get some backing fabric for the

***I have 3 rolls of batting here at home for my next 3 quilts.

IMGA0238-1 He had his work cut out for him keeping the quilt from flying into the lake. He also had a chance to ham it up a little bit. That’s my boys!

*

*

*

*

I don’t have many batiks in my stash so winning these blocks allowed me to work with fabrics I normally would not have chosen myself. I love each one. I really enjoy quilts with a large variety of fabrics. It would have been so expensive for me to have purchased 1/4 cuts of each of these fabrics.

IMGA0284-1I think this photo show a good shot of how the 3 patches were sewn together as light/medium/dark. It took some work to not get too many really bright lights next to each other. I also didn’t want the darks on the bottom row to blend in with each other. This is a good example of when to look through a red piece of glass to see the color value.

IMGA0286-1A moose block dedicated to my sister-in-law. She likes to collect moose items!

IMGA0287-1 The golden star fabric and the dots below it are a favorite!

IMGA0288-1 This fabric with the plants has great movement.

IMGA0289-1I was a little concerned about the fish fabric with the fish batik squares but it works.

IMGA0290-1I just can’t lose with the golden tones. They are my overall favorite!

**********************************************************

It is now 2 days after we shot these photos.

The quilters were to my house tonight. We were only missing 3 of the ladies.

It was a nice night. I got to do show and tell with a great find I made yesterday!

I will try to photograph it tomorrow.

I got a call tonight on my cell phone with an unidentified number. I called my sister to see if she knew who it was because it came from my home town. She thought maybe it was one of my niece’s. I called the number and turns out it was a member of the booster club from my high school. I have been selected for my high school athletic HALL OF FAME! They will have a celebration at the football game on September 18th.  It’s quite an honor.

IMGA0233-1 I have my 30 year class reunion this summer. The school is just a little over 40 years old. Tomorrow is the senior athletic banquet so the booster club wanted to contact me before the banquet because they will be announcing it at that time.

My younger son said. “But Mom you’re not an athlete anymore”. They have no clue that at one time in my life all I lived for was sports.  My whole life was swimming, gymnastic and track…as well as German club, marching band, jazz band, pit band, NHS and just about anything else I could join. I was even a cheerleader for a few years for basketball and football and occasionally a wrestling match!

I guess one of these days I should pull out an old yearbook!

He wants me to write up my favorite athletic memory. I’ll have to think about that one. I was the first female athlete from my school to go to state in a sporting event. I went in the 100 freestyle. It was a very major event for me and for my coach.

Off to dream land. I may be doing the uneven parallel bars in my sleep tonight!

3 Responses to “Batik Fish Quilt Top”

  1. Pam Says:

    What a fabulous quilt! You are inspiring me to try batiks. I like what you said about using a piece of red glass for color values – new information to me. I recently made a log cabin and that was the hardest part, learning how to use contrasting fabrics.

  2. laura Lea Says:

    This is an exceptional quilt. I love how the colors flow and you actually were lucky enough to win those great fish! The batiks you used really enhanced the fish! Wonderful. Thanks for the link to see it up close. I can tell it is loved and special. It just simply sings!

    • quiltedthrifted Says:

      Thanks Laura Lea. I didn’t win the fish blocks though I won the rail fence blocks. I didn’t put the rail fence in it’s traditional setting though. I probably should have. I like the way it turned out though. I purchased the fish fabric years before I won the blocks and I came upon them one day and realized how great they would look in this quilt. I had to add a border around the fish squares to make them as large as the rail fence blocks I won. It turned out better than I thought it would. It is nice when a design works out so well.

Leave a Reply

