String Pieced Tulip

String Pieced Tulip

Originally uploaded by Q_uilted T_hrifted


I just love these string pieced tulips. I have seen photos on some of Flickr as well. I fell in love with this quilt at an antique store.

You won’t believe it but there are strips of cream colored paint going along with quilt in various areas. I think someone was using it as a drop cloth! Really I do.

There are also stains here and there.

IMGA0142-1

The worst damage came from a dog we used to have. Her name was Buttercup and we loved her dearly.

She was a cocker spanial and we got her as a puppy.

One day I came home from work and she must have gotten caught underneath because she chewed her way right through the center of the quilt.

This was already 10 years ago.  I was afraid she was going to be sick with all that batting in her tummy.

She was just as playful and happy as ever. Sometime I will do some repairs of this. Right now it reminds us of her.

She is no longer with us. It’s a long story. We certainly enjoyed her although she had chronic ear trouble. If you are ever considering a cocker make certain you have the time to keep their ears clean and properly cared for.

 I miss going for walks with her in the evening.  We went on wonderful walks with her. We went to obedience training as well. It was an interesting time in our life.

IMGA0145-1

We most likely will never have a dog again.  Mainly because we love to travel and with the boys in sports we are hardly ever home.

I have thought about being a foster family on weekends for the Animal Shelter.  With a 7 year old in the house he would have fun running

a dog over the weekend and we all could get more exercize.  I did start teaching the Tiger Cub/ Boy Scouts how to his a tennis ball.

We have a court that has a wooden wall behind it and it is a perfect place for  the children to his the ball around.

Thanks for stopping by. If you want to see a photo of Buttercup stop by again. I will add photos to this post once I get them scanned into the computer.

QT

One Response to “String Pieced Tulip”

  1. isathreadsoflife Says:

    Hello ! Nice to have found your blog 🙂 I love this tulips quilt and have to find out how to sew them. The story of your dog was lovely. A dog is a wonderful companion, I miss mine every single day, especially when I walk in the woods. I look forward to seeing and reading more of your blog. Thanks for sharing.
    Isabelle (isa13)

Leave a Reply

