Triple Irish Chain

The front side of Erica’s quilt

Originally uploaded by Q_uilted T_hrifted

This is the front side of Erica’s quilt.
Triple Irish Chain put together and binding done for her graduation from HS 2001. I still need to do the quilting!!!

The reverse side of Erica’s quilt. This is the side with the signatures.

Triple Irish Chain

There is a system to my madness!
Each 49 patch square has…
4 reds one being solid
4 yellows one being solid
a total of 4 solids
at least one blue,green,orange,purple and black. There is also a bit of eye spy going on because each 49 patch has one cat square and each set has a different cat fabric.

The edge of the quilt

The binding is on the quilt already even though it is not formally quilted. I wanted to be able to give it to Erica in hopes that some day it will be quilted.

I still need to quilt the center squares

I was hoping the 4 yellows and 4 reds would give the quilt a lightness and brightness. I didn’t want it to look too dark.

Erica Class of 2001

She just graduated from college!

What lies behind us
and what lies ahead of us
are tiny matters compared
to what lies within us.

You did it!

Erica's Signature Quilt

This is a two sided Triple Irish Chain Signature Quilt

The 49 patches are made up to 1 1/2 strips that finish to 1 inch. Many of my cat fabrics were not a small print that would fit this size parameter so I added larger squares to the back.

Cat Quilt

Both Erica and I played the Saxophone in high school so I thought this fabric would be just perfect!

Both Erica and I play the saxophone

Signatures of friends and family are in the alternate block and also along the sides.

This is the back side of the quilt

 

2 Responses to “Triple Irish Chain”

  1. Sunflower CQR What If… « Quiltedthrifted’s Weblog Says:

    […] started this project by taking many of the 1 1/2 squares I have cut for my Triple Irish Chains and making them into a 49 […]

  2. Free Piecing in Brights/Quilt List « Quiltedthrifted’s Weblog Says:

    […] Triple Irish Chain for Erica’s HS […]

Leave a Reply

