Scrappy Bargello Quilt

Sunday August 31st 2008

I took some time today to add a few more shots of the Scrappy Bargello I have been working on. It was nice enough yesterday that I could sew outside.

I really like the colors in this quilt. We are moving from summer into fall and these colors seem just right.


I am noticing the sunflowers are blossoming, I wish I had planted some. My sister has some in her back yard that are over 8 feet tall.

I have never seen anything like it before. The golden tones in sunflowers are one of my favorite colors, I also like orange. This photo shows the orange a little better that the other ones. I haven’t made many fabric purchases lately but I did get a couple oranges to add to this quilt.

I also like to journal when I go on vacation. These are two of the books I have written in over the past 10 years while traveling.

Plant a Seed. Feed a Bird.

I have had this doll for at least 14 years. I’ll have to go back and get some close ups of her face. I did not make her. I just likes the sunflowers on a blue background. It is very pleasing to the eye.

Scrappy Bargello Quilt

Originally uploaded by Q_uilted T_hrifted

Of course the last thing I needed to do was start another quilt….but the first thing I did after seeing tutorials online and other quilts like this on Flickr was to start one. I really enjoy Flickr and seeing all the quilts and blocks. This is the progress I made since 5 weeks ago.
You will enjoy this website. Quiltville.com
Here is one of the first quilts that inspired me and made reference to Quiltville.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/floribunda52/2076145589/

I am enjoying this process so much. I really like how I can see the light and darks in the photo. I adapted to my own style by using 1 1/2 inch strips. I continually make Triple Irish Chain quilts and can use the strips in both projects. I am making the gradations in nine columns due to the small size of the blocks. The yellow really pops in this photo but it does not show how nice the orange is. I will have to try different lighting on the next photo. I made more progress last night!

Saturday August 30th.

I was able to take a few hours today to do some sewing. Over the past few weeks I chose the fabrics I wanted to work with on the second set of nine 1 1/2 inch squares. I am using the primary colors red, blue and yellow, the secondary colors green, orange and purple, as well and white and black.

Scrappy Bargello

 

4 Responses to “Scrappy Bargello Quilt”

  1. LauraJ Says:

    Hello,
    I found you through your flickr photos. This block is so nice and it will make a lovely quilt someday. I went through your blog a bit and you are such a dear lady. Your boys are quite handsome and you make the nicest things. (Don’t worry I’m not a stalker or anything, I’m just a mom in Canada who makes pretty things too and I have a flickr account too.)

  2. quiltedthrifted Says:

    Thank you LauraJ. I appreciate the wonderful comment. I have noticed all the great support women give each other on Flickr and through blogging. It has been a super experience. I have so many things I would love to photograph and share. I haven’t even begun to start with my thrifting items…and there are plenty. The thing is they all spoke to me in one way or another. I have a third strip started on this quilt. It is not as long as the other two…yet. We have two weeks left of an 11 Saturday run of college football. It has been a great season. The boys are tied for 1st right now with two other schools for the conference title. 1st grade is going well for my little one as well. I praise all teachers….we took 4 boys to a fire station for Tiger Cub Scouts with at least one parent each supervising . Wow, so much energy! I can’t even imagine handling an entire room by myself!

  3. Free Piecing in Brights/Quilt List « Quiltedthrifted’s Weblog Says:

    […] 28. Scrappy Bargello […]

  4. Thrift Store Quiltie | Quiltedthrifted's Weblog Says:

    […] Pretty soon the pots will have flowers in them. I hope to spend a few weekends out on the deck working on my scrappy bargello! […]

Leave a Reply

